A WOMAN’S RELATIONSHIP WITH HER BREASTS


Three hundred Canadian women between the ages of 22 and 59 were recently surveyed about their desire to change any body parts, with eighty-seven per cent of them saying they would like to change at least one part of their body.  Can you guess which body parts came in as highest priorities on their wish list? If you guessed stomachs and breasts, you are right, with stomachs being their top priority.

But in the United States, it appears those priorities are reversed.

Thirteen per cent of Canadian women have considered or are currently considering breast implant surgery, with women between the ages of 22 and 34 being seven times more likely to be entertaining that option. But in the United States, where breast augmentation is the number one requested plastic surgery procedure, it accounts for roughly 20 per cent of all performed cosmetic procedures.

 

Although it appears that breast implants become less of a priority with increasing age, I recently learned of one 82 year old woman who underwent the procedure and was thrilled with the result. Apparently, a woman’s relationship with her breasts is quite personal!

Have a beautiful life!

6 thoughts on “A WOMAN’S RELATIONSHIP WITH HER BREASTS

  1. Very interesting article. I agree that the two things I would want to change about my body would be first, my stomach (especially after two pregnancies), and second, my breasts (from breastfeeding). I guess I’m opposite the majority of women in the States. I figure I can tuck the boobs into a super reinforce wonder bra, but wearing anything too binding around my waist makes me too uncomfortable.

  2. I know what you mean, Denise. I hate that binding feeling around my waist. Why do you think I was at the gym at 7:45 this morning!

    Thanks for leaving your thoughts here.
    Warm regards,
    Lois

  3. I am sure by “forced” she means having a masectomy and reconstructive breast surgery. Having been there myself, it changes your relationship with your breasts. Our culture is obsessed with breasts and young women (and men) are bombarded with images of cleavage and unnaturally large and round breasts spilling out of low necked attire. Is anyone else sick of seeing cleavage constantly?

    • Yes, Susan, I assume your interpretation is correct. I underwent a lumpectomy two years ago and was even a bit freaked at the thought of being left with a scar across my breast. So I can only begin to imagine the thoughts that went through your mind.

      Thanks for posting.

      Lois

Leave a Reply

