HOW TO MAKE YOUR NAIL POLISH LAST LONGER


WHAT I LEARNED FROM NOTED DERMATOLOGIST DR. NEAL SCHULTZ

Everyone wants their nail polish to last longer. As he says, it’s a no brainer that less frequent manicures mean less effort, time and expense, it’s also a real win for women with brittle, cracking or chipping nails. Nail polish protects and thereby helps problem nails, but the nail polish remover used before each manicure actually strips the surface of the nail plate and weakens it. So, longer lasting nail polish means less frequent use of nail polish remover and consequently stronger nail plates. Here is his tip: To make your nail polish last longer and in turn help prevent your nail plate from weakening, wipe your nails with a cotton pad or ball moistened with the regular 5% white table vinegar already in your cupboard, and allow it to dry, before applying your polish.

Facebook-like-button2

Beauty Within

                  Beauty Without . . .

                               What’s Your Passion?

Explore the Many Dimensions of Beauty 

8 thoughts on “HOW TO MAKE YOUR NAIL POLISH LAST LONGER

  1. Lois I will soon be adding some of my posts and stories about my hairdressing, makeup artistry and modeling careers soon and you might find them interesting.I am just learning how to blog so when I learn how I will add a link to your site ,

    • Thanks Chris. Look forward to connecting some more. Beauticians and hair stylists are somewhat akin to psychologists. Their clients seem to share all, don’t you think?

      Best.Lois

    • Catherine, I think this tip is more to help prevent nails from weakening rather than to prevent the polish from chipping off. but maybe by “chipped” you actually meant pieces of your fingernails chipping off. I know that is a problem for me and vinegar wipes seems to be helping.

      • It’s definitely a combination for me – my nails are so thin that they easily break and chip, not just the nail polish. I’ve tried many removers to help ease the excessive damage, but I’ll be sure to try the vinegar too!

  2. Have you found that any type remover works better for you than the run of the mill kind? It would be great if you would share your experience with the effects of vinegar on your nails once you try it.

    Best,
    Lois

Leave a Reply

