NIPS, TUCKS AND KISSES


What would you think of a woman who tells you she has fallen in love with her plastic surgeon? A bit unbalanced, you’d say? Sexually promiscuous? Frustrated, with no love life of her own? Wrong on all three counts. I can tell you that first hand because I was that woman! Yes, that’s right, me, happily married to the same man I fell in love with at age 19. Me, a solid-as-a-rock, both-feet-on-the-ground type, refined, and loyal to a fault, forever honoring those marriage vows. But there I was, a few weeks post-surgery, feeling like a hopelessly-in-love teenager. Why was this happening to me? My research led me to some answers that began to clear the air. My interviews with other women (over 100 of them), made me aware of the fact that this was not such an unusual phenomenon.

So what did I do? With the knowledge that I was not alone, I wrote about it in a book about women and cosmetic surgery – one chapter about my experience and a second chapter filled with other women’s stories. Was I embarrassed? Of course! The title of my personal story chapter, “Utter Humiliation”, answers that question rather nicely. Then why would I share this with the world? I suppose that being a veteran teacher is a partial answer to that second question. I like to help others learn. And here was a issue that people didn’t speak about, didn’t understand. And that includes surgeons as well as patients. So I enlisted my research and interview skills to explore the topic more deeply. Then I gathered all my courage to write about the very topics that had been hushed into darkness for much too long. Did I make the right decision? First listen to my interview on The AuthorsShow with host, Don McCauley, which created quite a stir.

Read on.

Since the publication of Sex. Lies and Cosmetic Surgery, I have received e-mail messages from a number of women with similar experiences. It even became the subject of a blog that received comments from over fifty-eight women, many confirming my experience by detailing similar ones of their own.

    Fascinating reading!

 You can read some of them here.

Then a Southern Belle named Georgia sent me a private e-mail which she gave me permission to reprint here. Her message confirmed for me that I had made the right decision for exactly the right reasons.

Here is her e-mail:

I arrived home from being out of town yesterday & found your book that I’d ordered from Amazon.com. Couldn’t wait to read it, & found it quite interesting & informative, especially the above-mentioned chapters (Chapters 5 and 6)!  I had an eye-lift over ten years ago and recently had a face lift. Both times I too experienced post-surgical amorous feelings for my plastic surgeon.  When I talked to him about it in follow-up visits, all he said was Don’t worry, you’ll get over it.  I don’t think that any of them have a clue about how to handle what I now find from your book is not so uncommon. You’d think that it would be covered in a surgeon’s training at some point, & it certainly needs to be so that it can be included in the packet of information they give us before surgery.

If you were Georgia, what words would you have liked to have heard from your plastic surgeon? (and I don’t mean I love you!)

I will appreciate hearing your thoughts on this “Don’t ask, don’ tell” topic.

Beauty Within

                Beauty Without . . .

                               What’s Your Passion?

Click to Explore the Many Dimensions of Beauty 

2 thoughts on “NIPS, TUCKS AND KISSES

  1. Pingback: FABULOUS BEAUTY BLOG ARTICLE INDEX – by Lois W. Stern « The Fabulous Beauty Blog

  2. Pingback: INDEX OF FABULOUS BEAUTY BLOG ARTICLES – by Lois W. Stern « Tales2Inspire

Leave a Reply

