WOULD YOU LIE ABOUT YOUR FACELIFT? by Lois W. Stern


lies

I just read about a woman who has scheduled a facelift, but instead of leveling with her husband, she has told him  that she’s going away on a business trip. Soon she’ll be traveling out of state – off  to her selected plastic surgeon’s office.

Sure her absence is easily explained, but what about the post surgery bruises and swelling? How does she explain all that? “Easy,” says she. “I’ll just tell him I was in a car accident.”

Now  a car accident that causes injury to your face must be more than a simple fender bender. Won’t her husband want more details?  What about damage to the car? Is she going to run it into a brick wall to feign authenticity?  Wouldn’t he ask about those insurance claims that need to be filed? I can see where we are setting up a house of cards here, with one lie pressing against the next until those cards all fall down.

When I was interviewing women for my book, Sex, Lies and Cosmetic Surgery, I spoke to several others who either concealed or minimized the extend of their surgeries. My hair stylist was one. She confided that she told had her significant other that she was having her eyes done, when in fact she went for a full facelift. When he asked her why she had stitches behind her ears, she answered, “I don’t know, I guess that’s the way they do eyes now.” And funny as it sounds, he actually believed her!

slcs_cover_gold_sm

I honestly don’t think we have to share every detail of our beauty routines with our spouses, but where do we draw the line? Would you tell your spouse or significant other? What would you do if you were in those same shoes? I’d love to hear from some of you.

Looking forward to keeping in touch!

Lois W. Stern

 

One thought on “WOULD YOU LIE ABOUT YOUR FACELIFT? by Lois W. Stern

  1. Pingback: WOULD YOU LIE ABOUT YOUR FACELIFT? by Lois W. Stern | Best Amazon Beauty Products

Leave a Reply

